Official Raspberry Pi 7" touchscreen

All the topics related to QLC+ on the Raspberry Pi
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4482
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

de DJ Fabriek wrote:Only thing is when i click simple desk the resolution is change n not right.
Because QLC+ is not deisgned to run on 800x480.
However you can reduce the number of simple Desk faders:
http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/parameterstuning.html
de DJ Fabriek
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 9:07 am
Real Name: Tiago Vilhena de Oliveira

Do you mean this?

[simpledesk]
splitter=@ByteArray(\0\0\0\xff\0\0\0\x1\0\0\0\x2\0\0\x1\xd3\0\0\x1v\x1\xff\xff\xff\xff\x1\0\0\0\x2\0)
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4482
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

No. I mean what is written in the documentation I linked:

Code: Select all

Category: simpledesk
Name: channelsperpage
Type: integer
Description: Set the number of DMX channel sliders displayed per page
Default: 32
It's not there by default so you need to add it in the [simpledesk] section

Code: Select all

channelsperpage=16
de DJ Fabriek
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 9:07 am
Real Name: Tiago Vilhena de Oliveira

i understand, i can't find the file on the raspberry. Or do i have to add this at config.txt
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4482
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

de DJ Fabriek wrote:i understand, i can't find the file on the raspberry. Or do i have to add this at config.txt
On the RPi, the file is here:

Code: Select all

/root/.config/qlcplus/Q\ Light\ Controller\ Plus.conf
Add the entry in the simpledesk section like this

Code: Select all

[simpledesk]
channelsperpage=16
chispito
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:33 pm
Real Name: Mark G

mcallegari wrote:
de DJ Fabriek wrote:i understand, i can't find the file on the raspberry. Or do i have to add this at config.txt
On the RPi, the file is here:

Code: Select all

/root/.config/qlcplus/Q\ Light\ Controller\ Plus.conf
Add the entry in the simpledesk section like this

Code: Select all

[simpledesk]
channelsperpage=16
So I completed these steps, but it still causes resolution issues when I switch to Simple Desk. I lose the Play/Stop buttons in the upper right. Also, there is a small border around the edge of the touch screen. I just installed the latest image and used rpi-update.sh to get it to work.

Any ideas?
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4482
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Which image are you using exactly ?
With the latest I released you don't need to rpi-update to have the touchscreen working.

Plus, how many faders have you set for the simple desk ?
Care to show a picture of what you see ?
martydj
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:01 pm
Real Name: Martino

Hi,
I have the same problem.
RPi 2 b & LCD 7'' buyed from RS; the image is the last.
I tryed to change severl times the 'channelsperpage' param from 10 to 40 but the screen goes over on the right and it looses the play/stop.
This is due to the automatic adjust of the space destinated to every crossfader.
May you give me some solution?
Thank you
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4482
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Martino,
the default number of faders is 32.
Here we discussed about reducing it around 16. How can you possibly imagine to get 40 faders to fit into a 800 pixels wide screen ?
Every fader takes more or less 36 pixels.

[EDIT] To everyone: reducing the 'channelsperpage' parameter is not enough on the RPi 7" screen
You need to reduce also the 'playbacksperpage' parameter as well, as suggested in another thread in this forum.
Basically like this:

Code: Select all

channelsperpage=16
playbacksperpage=8
Attached a picture of how uncomfortable it will result.
Attachments
sdsmall.png
martydj
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 6:01 pm
Real Name: Martino

Thank You, it's allright
User avatar
Frank
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:34 am
Real Name: Frank

The following remarks concern the rotation of the screen content:
de DJ Fabriek wrote:Hi, how do you solved the upside down problem? (solved)
display_rotate=0 Normal
#display_rotate=2 180 degrees
...
I found and copied the following from this source http://forums.pimoroni.com/t/official-7 ... en-faq/959
Help, my screen is upside-down!

Note: An update has been pushed to Raspbian to flip the screen ( rotate it by 180 degrees ) for a better desktop viewing angle. This makes it upside-down in our stand, so you'll need to change a setting to flip it back.

To do this, open /boot/config.txt in your favourite editor and add the line:

lcd_rotate=2

This will rotate both the LCD and the touch coordinates back to the right rotation for our display stand.

Don't use the documented display_rotate, it performs a performance expensive rotation of the screen and does not rotate the touch input.
Because de DJ Fabriek used that 'display_rotate' command, I want to point to the post referenced above.

Frank
de DJ Fabriek
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 9:07 am
Real Name: Tiago Vilhena de Oliveira

Hi,


My screen is not fully filled i have a black border when QLC is on screen.

See attachment

can i change this? or do i have to deal with it
IMG_0905.jpg
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4482
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

More details please !

What did you do to fall into that state ?
Which image are you using ?
Which Raspberry version ?
Which QLC+ version ?
de DJ Fabriek
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 9:07 am
Real Name: Tiago Vilhena de Oliveira

Hi,

I use DSI 7" official screen
Raspberry pi2
QLC 4.10.3
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 4482
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

I'd say you can try to remove the QLC+ configuration file

Code: Select all

rm .config/qlcplus/Q\ Light\ Controller\ Plus.conf
aciphexdnb
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:01 pm
Real Name: Boy van Poortvliet

Hey guys,

I'm trying to set up my adafruit 2.8C touchscreen the same way as instructed on the first pages of this thread. Unfortunately I can't get my raspberry to display QLC+, only the terminal. My HDMI does however at the same time show the QLC+.

Any suggestions?
User avatar
Frank
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:34 am
Real Name: Frank

Hi aciphexdnb,

this thread only concerns the new "Official Raspberry Pi 7" touchscreen", via the special LCD port (connector) of the RPi.

The connection of any other type of touchscreens is described inside the users manual (QLC+_RaspberryPi_Guide-4.10.3.pdf for example), and it was discussed in the following thread: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1818

I'd used some small touchscreens (2,8", 3,2" and 3,5") too...

Frank
aciphexdnb
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:01 pm
Real Name: Boy van Poortvliet

Thanks for the pointer Frank, I'll check it out.
aciphexdnb
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:01 pm
Real Name: Boy van Poortvliet

Since I've tried everything in that post, and i still can't get past the terminal login on my pitft, could anyone give me a pointer on where to look to display QLC+ on my pitft?

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
Frank
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:34 am
Real Name: Frank

... I don't believe it's a good idea to discuss problems (using other displays than that 7" one) inside this thread... :?

Frank
Post Reply