Channel does not change, but also is not overridden

Ask a generic question about the usage of QLC+, not related to a particular operating system
michelkeijzers

Dear all,

I'm very new to QLC+ but I really like this program.
However, I have a strange issue:

- I added two Cameo fixtures
- When I use the Simple Desk I can change the channel values and the Fixture monitor and real (Cameo) lights are corresponding.
- When I use a Scene it does not work.

Only two channels stay fixed, and what is strange, is that no channels are overridden (red) in the Simple desk.

Is there another reason why channels do not change? And what can I do to prevent this ?
Thanks in advance.
MichelSliepenbeek

.... and what is strange, is that no channels are overridden (red) in the Simple desk.

It is just the other way around: Simple Desk overrides Functions (but Functions do not override Simple Desk).

Simple Desk can be usefull when:
- you have a new Fixture but the manual is missing or Incomplete.
Using the sliders you can find out what the channels are doing.
In a simular way you can use Simple desk to test Custom Fixture Definitions.
- Developing and testing new Functions.
Suppose you are creating scenes to set the colors of your Fixtures, but your Function(s) to set the master Level is not available yet.
In this situation you can use Simple Desk to set your Master Level so that you are able to test your Color Scenes.
- Debugging.

In all other situations it is best to stay away from Simple desk. :)
Is there another reason why channels do not change?
There could be several reasons. Could be that you only set the Color Channels but the Master Level = 0, maybe there are other functions active at the same time (working on the same channels of the same fixtures), but it can also be caused by errors in a Fixture Definition.
I suggest you post your workspace (and any custom Fixture Definitions).