Pi 400 with HDMI display - QLC+ not starting

All the topics related to QLC+ on the Raspberry Pi
nkb5f

Hello-

Apologies in advance for novice questions.. I have very little experience with Linux and after several hours of fruitless searching on this forum and google I was not able to solve my issue.. so I hope it's ok to ask here.

BACKGROUND:
I have a Pi 400 with a monitor connected via HDMI.

I am attempting to use QLC+ to control a very simple lighting arrangement of 16 dimmers using a DMX King eDMX MAX plugged directly into the Pi's ethernet port. I do not plan to connect to any other network devices.

Following the QLC+ Raspberry Pi Installation guide PDF, I loaded qlcplus_raspios_bullseye_20230519.img to a brand new 64 GB Sandisk micro-SD card using the Raspberry Pi imager on my windows PC.

PROBLEM:

When I attempt to boot from the SD card, it does not appear to load QLC+ and instead asks me for a username and password. I entered the default "pi" and "raspberry" and received a command prompt.

I entered "qlcplus" to attempt to run the software and received the following error:

qt.qpa.xcb: could not connect to display
qt.qpa.plugin: Could not load the Qt platform plugin "xcb" in "" even though it was found.
This application failed to start because no Qt platform plugin could be initialized. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem. 

I attempted to manually reinstall the xcb plugin but that failed as well.

QUESTIONS:
Any ideas what may be causing this issue?
Does the Pi need to be connected to the internet?
Was I supposed to do anything with the .deb and .md5 files provided in the download area?

Thank you for any assistance.

Nate
mcallegari

Hi Nate, QLC+ on the Raspberry Pi doesn't use the XCB output (which requires an X.org instance to work)
Instead it uses an output called EGLFS. It's all in the startup script provided in the image which is located in

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/qlcplus
so basically the minimum command line would be