Script: "WAIT" command until the the end of chase

Ask a generic question about the usage of QLC+, not related to a particular operating system
jsem0n

Hi QLC experts,

I am a QLC newbie and I have run into an issue with scripting.

I want to run several chases one after the another in a one-shot manner. I understand this can be achieved by a startfunction followed by a wait command.
However I will likely fiddle with durations in many of the the steps in chase, seeking for the best overall experience. That means, the total length of a chase will change many times during the chase development and testing..
Is there any way of setting the wait time dynamically? i.e. telling the wait command to wait until the end of respective onging chase, whattever that would be?
And if not, is there any way how to easily copy-paste the total time length of a chase? So i don't have to manually calculate chase length after every change?

Thank you!
O.
GGGss

Welcome to the froum,

No there is not such a thing ... but you could consider the 'chaser inside chaser' method. Create a master chaser and put your sub-chasers inside it.
Or you step through the steps of your master chaser by hand, or you compute the time each sub-chaser needs to complete...
Using this method, you won't need to script anything.
Hint: Have a look at collections also... a very powerful tool. A collection can start different things at once (or with 1 command / step / ...).
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
MichelSliepenbeek

You could have a look at the Speed Dial: https://docs.qlcplus.org/v4/virtual-console/speed-dial

It is important to understand that a Speed Dial only affects the Functions (Chasers, Scenes, EFX, etc) you assign to it.
So if you have a Chaser that uses 4 scenes, you can set up one Speed Dial to control the (running and/or fade times) of the Chaser and another 4 Speed Dials to control the individual scenes.