Synchronisation with music

Ask a generic question about the usage of QLC+, not related to a particular operating system
rtrigg

Hi all,

Firstly, I am so grateful to have come across this software - it certainly seems more intuitive than some of the other free DMX controllers. :D

This is my first post and I am a complete beginner to DMX software, so my question is very basic, though I expect the solution will not be... ;)

I have a 'bedroom' set up of 8 U'King LED PARs and I have created a series of RGB matrices. Is it possible for me to synchronise the transitions within these matrices to the beat of any song? If not, can I do it by importing the mp3 files into the Shows feature? I fiddled around with the Audio Trigger widget in Virtual Console but found it a bit confusing. Ideally I would like to be able to set up something that recognises the beat organically rather than having to programme each song specifically.

I did look through the help guides but got a bit stuck. Any help would be much appreciated!

Cheers,
Ricky
GGGss

Welcome to the forum,

The Audio Widget on VC is the only tool we have inside QLC+ to do some kind of beat detection. On Windows, it's far from ideal, since the audio levels aren't high enough for a usable trigger level.
Even if you import your .mp3's, QLC+ has no beat detection.
The paid-for solution I use is Lightjams, which does excellent beat detection but the program itself has a very steep learning curve.
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
rtrigg

Thanks for that advice. I will look elsewhere for a program with better beat detection, as I am using WIndows and can't get reliable beat detection with the Audio Widget despite trying to optimise the thresholds.
kenact