Build howto with homebrew, and running with dylibs

awwright

I'm trying to mod QLC+ for my own use, but I'm new to Qt and I find the build documentation isn't straightforward. I normally use Gentoo and I'm comfortable building programs.

I'd like to add some things to the wiki, however there doesn't seem to be a way to edit the wiki or submit a PR for it.

In https://github.com/mcallegari/qlcplus/w ... -build-Qt5:

Homebrew Dependencies

The dependencies may be installed with Homebrew:

Code: Select all

brew install libftdi libusb libusb-compat ola qt@5
Running (without installing)

If I try to run qlc-plus without installing, I get a strange runtime error like "Undefined symbol _ZN9WebAccessC1EP3DocP14VirtualConsoleP10SimpleDeskib7QStringP7QObject". This seems to be because qlc-plus is loading the shared libraries installed on the system, and not the ones that I built. If I run `make install` this solves the problem, but I shouldn't have to do this for every build. How can I run qlc-plus and have it default to search for the newly-built shared libraries? e.g. which value of LIBRARY_PATH am I looking for? The built shared libraries seem to be scattered all over the place.

I have this problem on macOS 12.0.1 and Ubuntu 21.10, can you please explain this on the wiki pages?
awwright

I ended up going through all of the *.so files that `make install` installs, and replacing them with a symlink to their sources. That seems to be the easiest way to do this, since setting LD_LIBRARY_PATH doesn't get searched for plugins.

This is best done by overriding the command used to install the shared libraries:

Code: Select all

sudo make QINSTALL_PROGRAM='ln -srf' install
Last edited by awwright on Wed Dec 29, 2021 6:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
mcallegari

I'm not sure what is the goal of this post...
The build instructions for macOS makes usage of MacPorts, not homebrew.
Last time I attempted to build with homebrew there was such a mess with the Qt libraries, so I gave up.