Getting into QLC+ development

02JanDal

I figured my feature request thread already got enough off-topic as it is, so I'll pose this question here.

A short introduction about myself, in case anyone can be bothered to read it: I'm a mostly self-taught (though I have in recent years been filling some gaps in my theoretical knowledge through university courses) software developer and been developing with Qt/C++ for over 10 years, though recently I've mostly been doing webdev and systems engineering. Lighting wise I started of in my teens with an introductory course held by the local youth arts center and since then fallen into becoming "the sound and lighting" guy in several non-profits, in one of which QLC+ is these days "permanently installed" (the others are limited by the DMX interface, old Stairville DMX Jokers, and no budget to upgrade). A couple years ago I also started DJing and have slowly gotten into becoming a mobile DJ, where I also put a large emphasis on the lighting (I can't stand all the "we have awesome sound-activated lighting"-DJs, because in the end you just get an epileptic colorful mess...).

I haven't really been doing any open source work the last 2-3 years (mostly because of free time spent on other things) but would not mind getting more involved with some project again. I've been looking through the QLC+ code and infrastructure the last couple of days and seen a couple areas where I think I could be of help (other than working on bugs and features, in no particular order):
  1. Porting to Qt 6 (should be mostly straightforward, since Qt 6.2 all required modules are available, though some minor backwards incompatibilities exist), of course while keeping compatibility with Qt 5
  2. Porting the build system from qmake to CMake (while qmake will probably still be around for a few years its days are probably numbered, especially since Qt itself is moving away from it)