Developing new features: Fixture-Submaster and modifier key

pixler089

Hello,

I'm a software developer and a hobbyist in event technology. After trying some other PC based light solutions I use QLC+ now since about one year. Now at the moment I created a fork where I add features that I miss until now.

Of course I want to contribute these to the QLC+ if there is any interest in it.

Before I invest time in creating a pull request (at the moment the changes are "proof of concept" and need more tests, better integration into the GUI and documentation) I want to ask the following questions:
  • Is there an other way to do what I want that I didn't found until now, so the feature would be unneeded?
  • Is there an interest in integrating the feature to QLC?
  • Is the way I implemented the feature OK or are there better ways/other concepts?
Feature 1: Fixture-Submaster
Description:
In QLC there exists a Fader-Type named "submaster", but the effect of the submaster depends on the placement of the submaster in the GUI, that can create very ugly GUIs. I missed a "submaster" for fixtures as found for example on Martin M-PC, where it is possible to dim a set of fixtures by a fader, independent of where the fixture got his intensity (Scene-Button, Scene-Fader, Chaser, Level-Fader, ....), so it is possible to limit the intensity of a fixture.
Example:
If the fixture gets the brightness of 80% by a Chaser started by a button and the Fixture-Submaster is set to 50%, the resulting brightness of the fixture is 40%.
GUI:
I created a Combobox in the Level-Tab to select if normal behavior or "Submaster"-behavior is wanted, because the selection of the channels the Fixture-Submaster should affect is the same as for the Level behaviour.
Implementation:
In QLC+ there already exists a function named "BlendMode" that does exactly what I need for the Fixture-Submaster (Universe::MaskBlend). This work fine for me in the current tests.
Diff on GitHub