Page 1 of 1

Slider in Submaster mode does not work with a Cue List.

Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:10 am
by ryhel
Hi guys,

I was trying to control intensity of a Cue List using a Submaster Slider.
I found that Submaster would only work for the very first Cue. Once you switch to next Cue - it would not work anymore.
Please, find a test solution, steps to reproduce and couple screenshots in this ticket.

Test solution includes:
1. 3 Generic RGB fixtures
2. Sequence (made using a "one by one" RBG Matrix )
3. Cue list that targets the Sequence
4. Slider in Submaster mode that should control the Cue list

Steps to reproduce:
1. Open solution submaster_test.qxw
2. Switch to operate mode
3. Open Fixture Monitor (to see what happens)
4. Start the Cue list (Cue 1)
5. Move the Submaster Slider up and down and make sure it controls intensity on fixtures
6. Switch to Cue 2 (hit Next in Cue list)
7. Move the Submaster Slider up and down again
Expected: Intensity should change in responce to Slider motion
Observed: Intensity does not change

QLC+ v. 4.12.2

Works fine:
screenshot_001.png
Does not work:
screenshot_002.png
Regards

Re: Slider in Submaster mode does not work with a Cue List.

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 2:21 pm
by ryhel
I did some research on this, so looks like the problem is related to

Code: Select all

Function::m_overrideMap

member which is being cleared by a

Code: Select all

Function::resetAttributes()
call from

Code: Select all

Function::postRun()
When I Start the Cue list it will apply Submaster value like this:
debug_001.png
and this works.

When I click Next Step in the Cue List it will first apply Submaster value a bit differently:
debug_002.png
(which seems to work too)

but then it will reset the attributes like this:
debug_003.png
which seems to discard the Submaster value and reverts the original intensity.

Re: Slider in Submaster mode does not work with a Cue List.

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 2:24 pm
by ryhel
Finally, seems like I found an easy way to fix that:
debug_005.png

Although I'not familiar with the codebase so much, so this may or may not be a proper way.

Re: Slider in Submaster mode does not work with a Cue List.

Posted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 3:56 pm
by mcallegari
Hi, that might actually be the right fix. Thanks for looking into it.
I need to find some time to test your workspace.
That part is so delicate so I need to think if it can cause regressions elsewhere.

Re: Slider in Submaster mode does not work with a Cue List.

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 3:07 pm
by mcallegari
I have tested the fix and it seems to do the job!
Gonna push it upstream
Thanks again

Re: Slider in Submaster mode does not work with a Cue List.

Posted: Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:14 pm
by ryhel
Good news. Thank you Massimo!