QLCplus with VirtualDJ, via Artnet

This is a place for sharing with the community the results you achieved with QLC+, as a sort of use case collection.
You can share photos, videos, personal hardware/software projects, interesting HOWTO that might help other users to achieve great results.
juski

I've been using QLC+ for about 3 years to control my mobile dj lighting & I love it to bits. A couple of guys set about making a plugin for VirtualDJ to output artnet so that points of interest can be set in tracks to trigger lighting programs. I've been using a beta version of the plugin for ages.

Here's an example of something I rushed together for The Greatest Show track (I hate it but sometimes get asked to play it). I thought it'd be nice to give it a little more impact.. so here goes..

The rest of my rig does other things - all the VDJ plugin does is send artnet which triggers buttons on my virtual console. It's not as tight as a timecoded track but close enough for a mobile DJ - it doesn't help when a track isn't metronomic!

Here's a video about how it all works: https://vimeo.com/216547742
mcallegari

Hi Justin, thanks a lot for sharing !
Any chance you can point us to the VDJ ArtNet plugin you mentioned so that other users can benefit from the cool features you've shown us ?

Nitpick: instead of referencing ArtNet channel numbers (which is not mnemonic at all), you could create a custom QLC+ input profile and give channels a name. Much easier to remember and to understand ;)
juski

Thanks Massimo.

The VDJ plugin can be downloaded from here: https://www.kepler22b.uk/vdjartnet/

Instructions & other files can be found here:

https://github.com/VDJartnet/VDJartnet