Raspbian Stretch + VC4 + Qt5 = total mess

A place where updates of QLC+ activities and technical articles are posted as if it was a blog
mcallegari

First and foremost: if you use my image as it is and don't need/plan any customization, you can just ignore the rest of this post.

I was pretty happy of the results achieved on Raspbian Jessie. Good boot time, small footprint, a single Qt build that did everything we needed (EGLFS without Xorg, XCB with Xorg)
Then Stretch came...and ruined (almost) everything :(

As you might already know, QLC+ relies entirely on the Qt framework, so it is essential to have a flawless Qt. And here we go.

Short story: Qt on Stretch is broken, and at present I'm not able to provide a solution to run QLC+ on Xorg.

Long story:
When I started to port QLC+ back in 2013 there was only the Raspberry Pi 1 on the market.
I have 15+ years of embedded development experience, so I know every bit counts on limited devices, therefore I decided to go straight to the point by opting for EGLFS, a way to render graphics on a OpenGL surface.
I didn't even consider running QLC+ on a Xorg desktop enviroment (like on a regular Linux PC) cause that would have meant to wait minutes before seeing any DMX running.
Being QLC+ a desktop application though, my goal was to show up the interface in as less time as possible. And I did it.

More Raspberries were made, and the usability of QLC+ on Xorg started to become interesting, for example on a Raspberry Pi 3.

As you probably know, the RPi is based on a Broadcom chipset, which has a graphics processor called VideoCore IV (VC4).
The libraries used to control VC4 was provided by Broadcom as close source, even though they did the job, either with EGLFS or Xorg.