The easiest way to sync lights to music?

Archive of the non-categorized posts related to the QLC+ technical support.
Please do not create new threads here, instead, use the categories above !
Moskus

I'm no professional in controlling lights or anything. We do have a "smarthouse" which I've spent the last 7-8 years tuning, and my daughters (2 and 4) thought our regular Christmas lights last year "were so booring". So, what's a dad to do? ;)

I've gotten some lights, RGB strips, a DMX-King controller and some DMX receivers. All hooked up and ready to play. And here's where I get stuck!

I have a little studio in my basement, and I'm used to multitrack recording and MIDI-editing. I thought QLC+ would give me some of the same options. And perhaps it does, I just can't figure it out. My inital idea was to bind various functions and each light individually to a key on my MIDI-keyboard and just "play" long with the music. Repeat alot of time, and then you have a song. I don't see anything resembling a "record" button in QLC+, so perhaps I should just keep it MIDI and play it from my sequencer.

Or am I missing some cool functions in QLC+?

So I guess what I'm asking:
What's the easiest way to make some lights blink synced to music?

Thank you for your help! :)
bestdani

Hi,
as far as I know (I'm pretty sure) it's not possible to record a timed sequence (That's quite the same question) but I think it's a nice idea.

If you're already used to MIDI sequencers it's maybe the best option to do it using the sequencer and MIDI input in QLC+ when it works fine for you.

But QLC+ also has a show editor which is quite comparable to a MIDI sequencer track (however operated a bit different) and I've programmed some shows for my nephew using it, but you don't play it live, you can create some light sequences in the show editor directly and use the timing (fade in time, fade out time, duration) of a time step to match it to the music.