[SOLVED] Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen (Mac OSX)

Archive of the non-categorized posts related to the QLC+ technical support.
Please do not create new threads here, instead, use the categories above !
User avatar
mumbles
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:39 am
Location: Central USA
Real Name: Justin

[SOLVED] Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen (Mac OSX)

Postby mumbles » Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:03 am

Hi

I was wondering if anyone running QLC+ 4.9.1 on OS X 10.10.5 has had an issue with QLC+ screen expanding off screen and not allowing window to be resized to fit screen after selecting simple desk? Also after entering simple desk and screen expands; Full screen mode doesn't size correctly either making it difficult to use QLC+ with the controls on the left and right sides cutoff?

Here are some screen shoots showing what I mean by left & right of screen being cutoff. and configuration Im having issues with.

if someone could help me figure out a way to prevent this from expanding Id greatly appreciate it!

Thanks!
Attachments
TMS-QX-K.qxf
(3.1 KiB) Downloaded 27 times
RGB-Loopback-Device.qxf
(1.53 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
Desktop_Layout_temp.qxw
(171.21 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
Last edited by mumbles on Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

    OS's
    OSX 10.10.5 QLC+ 4.9.1
    Raspberry Pi B OLA 0.95
    Raspberry Pi 2B QLC+
    USB DMX
    ultraDMX Micro
    FTDI USB-RS485-WE-1800-BT XLR
    USB Midi
    Korg nanoKONTROL2
    Korg nanoPAD2
    Wifi
    iPhone & iPad TouchOSC 1.9.4
User avatar
mumbles
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:39 am
Location: Central USA
Real Name: Justin

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximize and not allowing it to fit screen

Postby mumbles » Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:06 am

Screenshoot
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-26 at 7.29.01 PM.png

    OS's
    OSX 10.10.5 QLC+ 4.9.1
    Raspberry Pi B OLA 0.95
    Raspberry Pi 2B QLC+
    USB DMX
    ultraDMX Micro
    FTDI USB-RS485-WE-1800-BT XLR
    USB Midi
    Korg nanoKONTROL2
    Korg nanoPAD2
    Wifi
    iPhone & iPad TouchOSC 1.9.4
User avatar
mumbles
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:39 am
Location: Central USA
Real Name: Justin

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen

Postby mumbles » Thu Aug 27, 2015 1:59 am

Ive just noticed to trigger this problem if it doesn't happen as soon as QLC+ loads file, selecting another tab and going back to simple desk seams to triggers issue every time.

    OS's
    OSX 10.10.5 QLC+ 4.9.1
    Raspberry Pi B OLA 0.95
    Raspberry Pi 2B QLC+
    USB DMX
    ultraDMX Micro
    FTDI USB-RS485-WE-1800-BT XLR
    USB Midi
    Korg nanoKONTROL2
    Korg nanoPAD2
    Wifi
    iPhone & iPad TouchOSC 1.9.4
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen

Postby mcallegari » Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:47 am

This is known "issue" and it happens on lower resolutions.
Which screen resolution are you using ?

In any case, you can set the number of faders that the Simple Desk should display, so it doesn't force QLC+ to resize horizontally
See 4.1 here: http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/parameterstuning.html
User avatar
mumbles
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:39 am
Location: Central USA
Real Name: Justin

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen

Postby mumbles » Thu Aug 27, 2015 11:58 am

Im using a MacBook pro 2010 with a sreen resolution I believe that is 1280x800.

Thanks for tip. Ill try changing fader count this evening.
Last edited by mumbles on Thu Aug 27, 2015 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

    OS's
    OSX 10.10.5 QLC+ 4.9.1
    Raspberry Pi B OLA 0.95
    Raspberry Pi 2B QLC+
    USB DMX
    ultraDMX Micro
    FTDI USB-RS485-WE-1800-BT XLR
    USB Midi
    Korg nanoKONTROL2
    Korg nanoPAD2
    Wifi
    iPhone & iPad TouchOSC 1.9.4
User avatar
mumbles
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:39 am
Location: Central USA
Real Name: Justin

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen

Postby mumbles » Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:06 pm

could someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong when trying to change simple desk fader count? If I understand correctly I need to add two lines at the bottom of net.sf.Q Light Controller Plus.plist. as shown in pic. Is this correct? It must not be because I keep getting all 32 faders when I launch QlC+
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 1.05.15 PM.png

    OS's
    OSX 10.10.5 QLC+ 4.9.1
    Raspberry Pi B OLA 0.95
    Raspberry Pi 2B QLC+
    USB DMX
    ultraDMX Micro
    FTDI USB-RS485-WE-1800-BT XLR
    USB Midi
    Korg nanoKONTROL2
    Korg nanoPAD2
    Wifi
    iPhone & iPad TouchOSC 1.9.4
User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen

Postby mcallegari » Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:06 pm

mumbles wrote:could someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong when trying to change simple desk fader count? If I understand correctly I need to add two lines at the bottom of net.sf.Q Light Controller Plus.plist. as shown in pic. Is this correct? It must not be because I keep getting all 32 faders when I launch QlC+

According to the documentation you need to use a backslash and not a dot.
See paragraph 3 / Mac OSX: http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/parameterstuning.html

Also I'm not sure about <integer>. I can't recall right now the tests I've done on OSX. Have you tried with <string> ?
User avatar
mumbles
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:39 am
Location: Central USA
Real Name: Justin

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen

Postby mumbles » Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:06 pm

[/quote]
According to the documentation you need to use a backslash and not a dot.
See paragraph 3 / Mac OSX: http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/parameterstuning.html

Also I'm not sure about <integer>. I can't recall right now the tests I've done on OSX. Have you tried with <string> ?[/quote]


Ive tried these combos and still no luck.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-28 at 6.09.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-28 at 6.13.24 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 12.57.46 PM.png

    OS's
    OSX 10.10.5 QLC+ 4.9.1
    Raspberry Pi B OLA 0.95
    Raspberry Pi 2B QLC+
    USB DMX
    ultraDMX Micro
    FTDI USB-RS485-WE-1800-BT XLR
    USB Midi
    Korg nanoKONTROL2
    Korg nanoPAD2
    Wifi
    iPhone & iPad TouchOSC 1.9.4
User avatar
mumbles
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:39 am
Location: Central USA
Real Name: Justin

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen

Postby mumbles » Thu Aug 27, 2015 7:40 pm

It appears that when I launch QLC+ after making changes to net.sf.Q Light Controller Plus.plist QLC+ is rewriting file back to default code. I know code is saved because I closed out of editor and reopened file in editor to verify file was saved then open QLC+ still 32 faders. So I closed out QLC+. Reopened editor opened net.sf.Q Light Controller Plus.plist and code changes are gone.

    OS's
    OSX 10.10.5 QLC+ 4.9.1
    Raspberry Pi B OLA 0.95
    Raspberry Pi 2B QLC+
    USB DMX
    ultraDMX Micro
    FTDI USB-RS485-WE-1800-BT XLR
    USB Midi
    Korg nanoKONTROL2
    Korg nanoPAD2
    Wifi
    iPhone & iPad TouchOSC 1.9.4
User avatar
pengumaniac
Posts: 75
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:59 am
Location: FRH, Germany
Real Name: Manfred Flintstone

Re: Issue with QLC+ window maximizing and not allowing QLC+ to fit screen

Postby pengumaniac » Thu Aug 27, 2015 10:47 pm

stop that tweaks (if not slider/page, perhaps changing "view mode" can extend, too)
and just try to save your workspace NOT, if simple desk is on the upper hand
switch then to VC, save, close QLC+ if you can, and start it new again (maybe w/ fullscreen & operate), this helps me also on 1024x768...

but maybe you want to use that cue stack "thing" ...
Gentoo | profile=desktop | LXDE | QLC+ qt4-build / openSUSE 13.2-x86_64 | KDE | QLC+ qt5-rpmbuild
The best way to predict the future is to invent it. (Alan Curtis Kay) - I'd like to emerge -avuND world, but there are no news in sync for stable updates

Return to “Archive - no new threads please”

cron