Click and Go RGB Not updatiing DMX

The issues found when using the Virtual Console
Post Reply
mgweber
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:39 pm
Real Name: Matt Weber

Click and Go RGB Not updatiing DMX

Post by mgweber » Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:54 pm

Hi, I tried updating from 4.10.5b to 4.11.0 and noticed a change in the behavior of the click and go for an RGB fixture. The intensity for slider works fine but the color control slider does reliably update the DMX value. I have seen it work once or twice in testing but have not yet established a pattern. I experimented with the "monitor levels" mode but that did change what I was seeing with the control behavior.

I have confirmed this on Linux Mint x64 and Windows 10 x64. I am attaching a sample workspace with the the fixture definition files I'm using. The controls in question are in page 1 of the "LED Rows" control on the right side of the console.

Thanks,
Matt
Attachments
Sample.zip
(15.18 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

siegmund
Posts: 561
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:03 am
Location: Germany
Real Name: Lukas

Re: Click and Go RGB Not updatiing DMX

Post by siegmund » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:37 pm

Hey!

I'm sorry but I'm not able to reproduce this with your workspace on Xubuntu 14.04 64Bit. Are you able to reproduce this in a minimal workspace? Are you sure your problem is not simply HTP-related (when using LED color slider on page 2)?

Regards,
siegmund

siegmund
Posts: 561
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:03 am
Location: Germany
Real Name: Lukas

Re: Click and Go RGB Not updatiing DMX

Post by siegmund » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:42 pm

Nevermind - this obviously was an issue. As Massimo said here this is fixed in the test versions and will be fixed as well in the next release.

mgweber
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:39 pm
Real Name: Matt Weber

Re: Click and Go RGB Not updatiing DMX

Post by mgweber » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:53 pm

Thanks for the reply.

I created a very simple workspace instead of pairing down my full workspace, I should have done this in the first place. I tried it in 4.11.0 and saw no change in the DMX monitor. I tried it with 4.10.5b and saw the DMX monitor reflect the changes to the rgb dmx values. I added 2 fixtures then attached level mode sliders for Intensity and RGB mode slider for color. I also added a similar pair for a fixture with a fixture definition bundled with QLC+ to see if there could be something odd in my fixture definitions.

I have used these definitions for a few years with no issue and see no issues with them in 4.10.5b so I really don't suspect the fixture definitions. I added the bundled fixture just to try every possibility.

Thanks,
Matt
Attachments
Minimal Sample.qxw
(4.95 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

mgweber
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:39 pm
Real Name: Matt Weber

Re: Click and Go RGB Not updatiing DMX

Post by mgweber » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:56 pm

siegmund wrote:
Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:42 pm
Nevermind - this obviously was an issue. As Massimo said here this is fixed in the test versions and will be fixed as well in the next release.
Great, thanks! I had seen this thread, I really do try to search before I create a new thread but since that thread mentioned several items and RGB was not one of them I wanted to metion it.

Thanks again, and thanks to all for the great work.

Matt

siegmund
Posts: 561
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:03 am
Location: Germany
Real Name: Lukas

Re: Click and Go RGB Not updatiing DMX

Post by siegmund » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:54 pm

mgweber wrote:
Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:56 pm
siegmund wrote: ↑
Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:42 pm
Nevermind - this obviously was an issue. As Massimo said here this is fixed in the test versions and will be fixed as well in the next release.

Great, thanks! I had seen this thread, I really do try to search before I create a new thread but since that thread mentioned several items and RGB was not one of them I wanted to metion it.
Still I recommend you to try a test version in the software development section!

mgweber
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:39 pm
Real Name: Matt Weber

Re: Click and Go RGB Not updatiing DMX

Post by mgweber » Mon Aug 07, 2017 8:11 pm

Good news! I tested with the 4.1.11.60 windows build and the DMX monitor indicates the correct values while updating the colors. I won't be able to test with the DMX interface until later this week but stand alone operation looks good.

Thanks,
Matt

Post Reply