Segmentation fault when using external MIDI input

Generic issues not specifically related to a QLC+ area.
Post here only if you can't really find the reason of an issue
dobs

Hi there,

I'm new to both QLC+ and Linux in general, so I may be overlooking something obvious... But my situation is this:

I've been attempting to set up my XL35 Mini Par Light through QLC+ so that I can control it using a MIDI device. So far, I've been able to successfully create the fixture and control it using various functions, and I've had no difficulty using buttons in the Virtual Console to link keys on my keyboard to any given function. I've also had no trouble actually connecting my MIDI device ‒ I can see that it is connected when I press the keys, move the faders, etc. ‒ it shows the joystick, no problem. The issue occurs when I attempt to set an External Input to my MIDI device... As soon as I switch to Operate Mode (via the green play button), IF there is a button in the Virtual Console that references a MIDI device, then QLC+ crashes with a segfault, like so:

Code: Select all

# qlcplus

Q Light Controller Plus version 4.11.1
This program is licensed under the terms of the Apache 2.0 license.
Copyright (c) Heikki Junnila (hjunnila@users.sf.net)
Copyright (c) Massimo Callegari (massimocallegari@yahoo.it)

Segmentation fault (core dumped)
I've attempted to find the problem using the -d flag, but strangely it doesn't print any additional information at all.

Note that this exact same issue has occurred both on my Raspberry Pi 3 (running the qlcplus-raspbian-jessie-20171028.img that was provided to me) and on my laptop (running Arch Linux), so I don't expect it's an OS issue, though I could certainly be wrong.

Can someone please help me to resolve this? I'm not sure where to go from here, as I've searched the forum and found nothing particularly relevant to my issue. I am happy to try anything and everything when it comes to troubleshooting.

Thanks.
mcallegari