Channel descriptions not being saved

The issues found when using the Fixture Definition Editor application
Post Reply
User avatar
fooschnickens
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:39 am
Real Name: Taylor

Channel descriptions not being saved

Post by fooschnickens » Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:47 pm

In creating a new definition I've discovered a bit of a bug in the UI.

OS: Windows 7 Pro
QLC: 4.10.5a

After you have "activated" the editing pane by double-clicking on a capability line, you can single-click any other line to supposedly edit that line. The problem is that you're not really editing that new line, but the same line that you just double clicked. After you enter that new information, it will be displayed in the capability list, but not actually be saved when you click the OK button at the end of the process. See below for step-by-step to reproduce:

Open the edit channel window, then double click a capability line to edit it.
fix1.PNG
Single-click another line.
fix2.PNG
Enter in the new information for that line, it will be displayed in the entry field and the capability list.
fix3.PNG

User avatar
fooschnickens
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:39 am
Real Name: Taylor

Re: Channel descriptions not being saved

Post by fooschnickens » Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:51 pm

After clicking the OK button, you will not have any of the new information saved to the channel list. Only the line that you double clicked will have any modifications saved, and those modifications will be for the latest change that you made.
fix4.PNG

User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 1959
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Re: Channel descriptions not being saved

Post by mcallegari » Fri Dec 23, 2016 11:44 am

Not reproduced in Linux.
This must be either a Windows specific issue or the fact that you double click on capabilities. You just need to single click a line.

[EDIT] tested also on Windows. No issue at all (again with a single click)

User avatar
fooschnickens
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:39 am
Real Name: Taylor

Re: Channel descriptions not being saved

Post by fooschnickens » Mon Jan 09, 2017 1:04 am

mcallegari wrote:Not reproduced in Linux.
This must be either a Windows specific issue or the fact that you double click on capabilities. You just need to single click a line.

[EDIT] tested also on Windows. No issue at all (again with a single click)
That's quite strange. I tested this on a different PC (running Win10 this time and on the latest 4.10.5b build) and got the same behavior modifying the channel capabilities as before.

Double-clicking a capability line will allow you to modify and save any changes, single-clicking only moves the line focus in the window without actually switching between the sets of capability values.

I made a quick video to maybe help display the difference in behavior of single and double-clicking within the program:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Jdz ... 2pKSEVxRk0

Post Reply