Wireless dmx

This is a place for sharing with the community the results you achieved with QLC+, as a sort of use case collection.
You can share photos, videos, personal hardware/software projects, interesting HOWTO that might help other users to achieve great results.
iamchrislaurie

Hi all

I ran a recent show using show using these very effectively. They are about US$10 from Aliexpress
Wireless_dmx_board.jpg
You have to make your own box with power supply.
Wireless_dmx_box.jpg
I had to add a diode on the receiver unit as the fixture it was connecting to was sending data on the dmx line when it does not get data. This would make the wireless receiver unit start transmitting with no way to switch back. And since it is on pole up high... Adding a diode cut off this incoming signal and it could sync with my transmitter unit.
vector

Just adding my 2 cents to this post. While I am very new to DMX I can confirm these units do indeed work great.
I have a an outside event where I need to send DMX signal across a lake(~200m) and simulcast up a forested embankment. So far the test runs(at the venue in question) have proved the concept. Very happy with the range and stability of these cheap units. Here they are boxed up.

One of the requirements for this event was to simulate lightning. I have to synchronise "lightning" lights with thunder clap audio track. But that's a story for another post ;)
DMX_TRX.jpg
schonemann

Hi
What are the names or where to find those wireless devices - please.
WHat to search for on Aliexpress. :) :idea:
sandinak

A quick note about these devices ... they work well in static situations where you can find a 'clean' channel. Our tour used them on and off and there were several instances where we had to re-channel ALL the dongles ( lowering a truss in preshow sucks. ) because of conflicts.
juski

Ok folks a few words about these wireless DMX boards and modules from the likes of Donner etc.