Any COM port as DMX

Ask a generic question about the usage of QLC+, not related to a particular operating system
rdelvax

Hi,
I'm new to QLC+, and I was wondering;
Is there a plugin that enables QLC+ to send DMX to any available COM port on the computer?
I can't seem to find anything about this with google.

Apparently FTDI chips are supported, but I have CH340 chips for USB to RS232 with a max485 to send DMX.
Using the UART on my arduino and a max485 it works just fine... and since the difference between RS232 is only the signal level, it should be no problem.

If there is no such option, I would like to submit it as a requested feature, but I can't find information on this on the forum either.
GGGss

Do you plan a large setup? Then you probably will find serious timing troubles as the outcome.
Arduino isn't fast enough to keep track of the required timing IMHO.
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
rdelvax

The arduino I use has a ESP8566 at 80MHz (can be set to 160) That's plenty fast enough for one universe.
And yes, there is a lot of information on the web how to build an art-net node with that chip, even supporting 2 universes
or one universe with RDM. So the arduino is not the problem (just mentioned it to clarify any UART could theoretically work).

But when I just have my DJ set, tablet and a few lights, it would be a lot easier if I could use an USB-RS485 converter as DMX Out.
I have 5 or 6 of those, and they basically work the same way as FTDI chips, but with a CH340. Windows recognizes them as COM port,
but QLC+ doesn't recognize them as viable DMX port.
So if there is a plugin that uses ANY COM port as DMX out, that would be a HUGE benefit for people with a low budget that like to use QLC+.

Even on an older PC with built-in com port... Add a max485 and you'd have a DMX port.