Fixture with intensity and strobe on one channel

Ask a generic question about the usage of QLC+, not related to a particular operating system
Majik

Hi,
I'm relatively new to QLC+ (great application by the way), although I'm pretty familiar with DMX lighting and lighting control in general.

I've bought myself a bunch of cheap fixtures off eBay mainly to help me learn QLC+. I have a friend whose band has a few DMX lights which they've been controlling using a standalone controller desk. I'm looking at whether I could replace this with QLC+ on an old laptop or Raspberry Pi or similar.

So, I'll probably be contributing a few fixture definitions in the near future when I have them straight.

Anyway, to the question:

One of my cheap fixtures (A RGBWA LED moving head) has the master dimmer and the strobe on the same channel, as follows:
0-134 Master intensity
135-239 Strobe speed
240-255 Full intensity

Can anyone suggest a sane way to approach this in QLC+?

One of the issues, for instance, is that if I include the master dimmer in a Channel Group, it assumes the control is a pure dimmer and so triggers the strobe at some levels.

I have tried using the Channel properties configuration and successfully configured a modifier for the channel which, effectively remaps the dimmer values to 0-134. This works well.

However, I then have the issue I can't access the strobe feature.

Note this isn't a production system. It's a lab so I've got this kit to learn. I do realise I could implement strobes using sequences, and this also has the advantage of allowing the strobe effect to be synchronised across multiple fixtures. I was just wondering if there was some trick I was missing.

Cheers,

Keith
GGGss

You could f.i. use 2 sliders and restrict the values they work with...
slider 1 intensity: 0-134
slider 2 strobe speed: 135-239

I hope that if you send 134 to your fixture that this equals full intensity otherwise we'd have to come up wth a thierd solution...

Have fun