Chase Duration in show

Ask a generic question about the usage of QLC+, not related to a particular operating system
RichT

Hi all, newbie here! I am very new to using QLC+ and have never used an automated lighting program before.

I am trying to set up a show for work, I have the music working, the light colour & brightness states. The issue I am having is getting a EFX working for the duration of a song. If I place the EFX at the beginning of the song and want the moving lights to stop their Pan & Tilt movements at the end I set the hold duration for the length, however it slows the pace right down and makes the one loop for the duration. I can't seem to set up it looping the same efc for say 10 seconds even though the efx is set for loop.

Any ideas? I am sure I am doing something so simple which is wrong.

Thanks!
GGGss

Welcome to the board ;-)

IMHO the way to do music & show in sync is a combination of several scenes, chasers and efx's all combined in a show. See http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/showmanager.html
With the show manager you have some control between expired time and what's going on with the lights. Here you could set moods for chorus and refrain and so on...

Have it a try
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escapes... they don't work anymore
mlohrey

I have found the show manager possibly the most rewarding and most frustrating part of QLC+ in my attempts to use it.

If you have the time, then creating step by step sequences seems to be the most reliable and accurate method. However, these can be painful to create.

I am not sure whether this will work for you, but for matrix effects, I found that putting them in a chaser and then putting them in the show was the most reliable way of having them work as expected. It is easy then to simply extend the duration time of the effect to what you need. You just have to be careful to create copies of the chasers if you plan to reuse them but for different amounts of time.