Total Noob here looking for some emotional support in Indiana

Ask a generic question about the usage of QLC+, not related to a particular operating system
IndianaRedBarn

I am making the leap from analog board to digital and have next to no idea what I'm doing. any help will be greatly appreciated.

Equipment list:

DMXKING eDMX Pro 1
PC Laptop

Software:

Q Light
DMXKing Configuration Utility

I've connected the eDMX Pro 1 to my laptop via cat5 and I can see the eDMX device in the DMXKing config utility.
I see the IP, MAC and all the info.
There is where my knowledge stops.

Can someone coach me through getting switched over to a software platform from my analog board please?
siegmund

A good starting point is the online documentation: http://www.qlcplus.org/docs/index.html (maybe see basic concepts first) and the video tutorials: http://www.qlcplus.org/tutorials.html

If you have more specific questions, just ask.
IndianaRedBarn

Thank you for your reply. I made some headway today but still don't have a working system. This is where I'm at currently.

System of 23 various DMX led lights assigned to 12 different fixture numbers able to be controlled with Chauvet Obey 70.

Unboxed DMXKing eDMX Pro 1, connected power, connected cat5 to laptop and ran configuration utility.
Set for DHCP, removed from Cat5 to the computer and connected to Apple AirPort for wireless control.

Connect computer to AirPort wirelessly and ran DMXConfig again to verify the wireless connection is good and can see the eDMX. Verified.

Opened various software on the PC (Freestyler, Q) and other iPhone apps (LightPad, OSRAM, Freestyler Remote) all of which can see and connect to the IP assigned to the eDMX. Using the Art-Net protocol if that aids in assessing this situation.

Added the first four fixtures to the various software, Chauvet LEDSplash 200b. Assigned to fixtures 1-4, dip switches 1/33/65/97 respectively.