Use mp3 as input

Ask a question about the usage of QLC+ with the Linux operating system
Post Reply
User avatar
MontyZuma
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:11 am
Real Name: Klaus Muth

Use mp3 as input

Post by MontyZuma » Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:00 pm

Hi!
I'm trying to test the Audio trigger functionality. Since I have no audio input at the moment I would like to use an mp3 recording as input.

Is there any way to do that?

klaus

janosvitok
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Real Name: Jano Svitok
Contact:

Re: Use mp3 as input

Post by janosvitok » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:27 pm

Depends on the OS you use.

Linux: check out alsa loopback device. Start player with output to loopback, set QLC+ to use alsa loopback as input.
OSX: I assume Core Audio has similar facility
Windows: It may be possible to instruct QLC+ to use the overall mix as input. In that case, you need to start normal player.

User avatar
MontyZuma
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:11 am
Real Name: Klaus Muth

Re: Use mp3 as input

Post by MontyZuma » Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:24 am

I'm posting in Linux specific - it's safe to assume I'm on Linux. :D

But I very much appreciate this full answer - I'll get some info about alsa loopback devices. I might report back my experiences.

klaus

janosvitok
Posts: 830
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 7:05 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia
Real Name: Jano Svitok
Contact:

Re: Use mp3 as input

Post by janosvitok » Mon Apr 03, 2017 8:54 am

Sorry, I didn't notice the forum :)

User avatar
MontyZuma
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:11 am
Real Name: Klaus Muth

Re: Use mp3 as input

Post by MontyZuma » Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:05 am

Solution for Ubuntu/PulseAudio:
  1. Install pavucontrol

    Code: Select all

    sudo apt install pavucontrol
  2. Open a shell and load the PulseAudio loopback module:

    Code: Select all

    pactl load-module module-loopback
  3. Start qlc+ and use audio standard input, add an audio control and start up the whole stuff
  4. Start audio playback
  5. Start pavucontrol and in the Record Tab find ALSA Plug-In qlcplus and select Monitor of internal Audio
    Beware: qlc+ only shows up in the Record Tab of pavucontrol, when the Audio Trigger is switched on!
    Image
YMMV - Works for me. (Sorry for the Screenshot in German)

The right keyword for your own search: pulseaudio loopback or alsa loopback.

User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 1866
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Re: Use mp3 as input

Post by mcallegari » Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:13 am

Thanks for sharing :thumbsup:

User avatar
MontyZuma
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 11:11 am
Real Name: Klaus Muth

Re: Use mp3 as input

Post by MontyZuma » Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:01 am

MontyZuma wrote:
Mon Apr 03, 2017 9:05 am
  1. Open a shell and load the PulseAudio loopback module:

    Code: Select all

    pactl load-module module-loopback
It's possible to add the module in the system-wide config file: /etc/pulse/defauld.pa so you don't have to use a shell every time you want to use a mp3 as an audio input.

Post Reply