DMX multitrack sequencing

Request a feature that you would like to see in QLC+.
Explain in details why you would need it and which is your usage case.
projektil

Hi all,

first, massive thanks for creating and maintaining this project, it opened the world of lighting to me and I love it. Since my background is around 20 years of music making in the homestudio, I´m very much used to the operating of programs like Creator (Atari), Cubase, Logic, Ableton etc. I currently run Ableton and NI Maschine as main tools.

Now here is what I would like to do (and please tell me if I should go look elsewhere or if there is a better way to achieve my goal, I´m a newbie to light) :

When I create music, I create one track for the Note on/off information. In case of a synth baseline for example, I will then add three or more additional tracks for MIDI CC information that control Filter Cutoff, Filter Resonance, the A of ADSR and so on. Since the controller information is on separate tracks in separate clips, I can easily move them around, copy them, edit them, stretch them, creating variations with just a few clicks. Let´s say I created a filter CC clip that opens the filter on every 3rd out of 4 16th note (3, 7, 11, 15), I can easily copy that clip to control resonance as well. Or control the filter of another synth - or change the CC to have the same pattern applied to ... let´s say the send level to the delay etc. You get the idea. Also, changing the timing of one CC parameter does not affect the others. So I could push the pattern mentioned above one 16th forward, and then have the filter open on 3,7,11,15 but the resonance go up on 4,8,12,16. All this information is also not in absolute timing (ms), but in relative timing, so if the tempo of the song changes, the information of CC will stay in sync. It´s a bit like the auto-time delay values of vst plugins, where the delay is tempo-matched.