User controlled step/cue numbers on a chaser

Request a feature that you would like to see in QLC+.
Explain in details why you would need it and which is your usage case.
Post Reply
andrewh
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:35 pm
Real Name: Andrew Hallmark

User controlled step/cue numbers on a chaser

Post by andrewh » Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:55 pm

Hi,

I use QLC+ in a theatrical environment, so the cuelist widget is what we use to run our shows. This works quite well, but we miss being able to have user-controlled step/cue numbers on the left of the cue list.

In a theatrical environment we run shows using manual triggers and infinite hold. The way we recognise when to run each cue is by writing the cue number in the script and then following the actors as they repeat their speeches against the prewritten script.

The numbers shown on the left of the cuelist widget in QLC+ are sequential, which doesn't make it easy to use them. If we insert a scene into a chaser then all of the subsequent steps are renumbered. If you have recorded the step numbers in the script then they are all wrong from that point onwards, so you'd have to renumber all of the cues after that point in the script, which is very hard work.

Normally in a theatrical environment we would make up intermediate numbers when inserting a cue, for example decimal places (cue 10, cue 10.5, cue 10.75, cue 10.8, cue 11) or start by numbering them with a gap, e.g. 10, 20, 30 allowing for 11 to 19 to be inserted at a later date.

We can do something like user-controlled numbers by adding a number at the start of the textual note, but then they aren't on the left of the display and show IN ADDITION to the sequential number that is automatically generated, which could confuse some of our operators. At the very least we'd like to hide the column containing the auto-generated numbers so that they don't cause confusion, but better yet is to replace that column with another containing a number we specify.

Currently using 4.10.4 on Windows 10.

Thanks,


Andrew
Last edited by andrewh on Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mcallegari
Posts: 1905
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 9:09 am
Location: Italy
Real Name: Massimo Callegari
Contact:

Re: User controlled step/cue numbers on a chaser

Post by mcallegari » Tue Nov 29, 2016 6:55 pm

You can write notes on each cue with the number you want and hide the number column by reducing its size to 0

andrewh
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:35 pm
Real Name: Andrew Hallmark

Re: User controlled step/cue numbers on a chaser

Post by andrewh » Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:44 am

Thanks, good tip on hiding the column!

andrewh
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 8:35 pm
Real Name: Andrew Hallmark

Re: User controlled step/cue numbers on a chaser

Post by andrewh » Mon Jan 02, 2017 10:48 am

Unfortunately it looks like the change in width of the column is not saved, which is a shame. That means my novice operators have to remember to do this themselves each time they open the workspace. This isn't the end of the world, but isn't ideal.

If the layout of the cue list widget is saved in QLC+ 5 then we can mark this as resolved/delivered.

smelvin
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:18 am
Real Name: Scott

Re: User controlled step/cue numbers on a chaser

Post by smelvin » Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:01 pm

Hi All

I would add to this and suggest that the cue numbers are either manual or automatic. This could be a option in the settings dialogue for the chaser/cue list.

That way it turns the cue # field into a text field ready for editing if manual is selected.

Next on the wish list regards cues, would be a drag and drop. So that cues could be moved rather than stepped up and down. A tiny minor thing, so not that important as the cue numbering.

I too come from a theatrical background and absolutely love QLC+ so thanks to everyone who has contributed to this great project.

Post Reply