Sliders in VC should be able to act like Simple Desk sliders, i.e. overriding the current cue level

Request a feature that you would like to see in QLC+.
Explain in details why you would need it and which is your usage case.
Post Reply
siegmund
Posts: 552
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:03 am
Location: Germany
Real Name: Lukas

Re: Sliders in VC should be able to act like Simple Desk sliders, i.e. overriding the current cue level

Post by siegmund » Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:50 pm

I see your use case. Since I consider this a very rare one, let me suggest another solution:
You could use a script, which enables all frames, resets all overrides and finally disables all frames again. You will need loopback and multiple external inputs per widget for this, which is currently only possible with the help of loopback (there was a thread about this, but I'm not able to find it at the moment). Please try it by yourself and ask if you are stuck. Unfortunately I don't have time at the moment to come up with a workspace file to illustrate what I mean.

User avatar
GGGss
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:15 pm
Location: Belgium
Real Name: Fredje Gallon

Re: Sliders in VC should be able to act like Simple Desk sliders, i.e. overriding the current cue level

Post by GGGss » Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:06 am

Maybe we should start a new thread -> maybe here viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10817&p=46595#p46595 because there we discuss the setup
All electric machines work on smoke... when the smoke escape from machines... they don't work anymore

siegmund
Posts: 552
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:03 am
Location: Germany
Real Name: Lukas

Re: Sliders in VC should be able to act like Simple Desk sliders, i.e. overriding the current cue level

Post by siegmund » Sat Feb 11, 2017 10:17 am

GGGss wrote:Maybe we should start a new thread -> maybe here viewtopic.php?f=29&t=10817&p=46595#p46595 because there we discuss the setup
Please start a new thread - the thread you mentioned discusses a very different topic and is somehow solved for the opener.

User avatar
sbenejam
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:28 pm
Real Name: Santiago Benejam Torres
Contact:

Re: Sliders in VC should be able to act like Simple Desk sliders, i.e. overriding the current cue level

Post by sbenejam » Thu Mar 09, 2017 6:44 pm

I posted this in other forum post.

After testing recent changes in slider monitor features I found a strange behavior. In the attached workspace I create 4 scenes this scenes controls dimmer fixtures.

Scene One with 2 dimmers first set to full, second set to zero.
Scene Two with 2 dimmers first set to zero, second set to full.
Scene One-1 with dimmer 1 set to full.
Scene Two-1 with dimmer 2 set to full.
Chaser OneTwo with scenes On and Two.
Chaser OneTwo-1 with scenes One-1 and Two-1

Virtual console
2 Sliders in monitor mode one per channel/dimmer.
Cue list OneTwo with scenes One and Two
Cue list OneTwo-1 with scenes One-1 and Two-1

Playing OneTwo cue list the sliders follow the values correctly, showing the values changing smoothly.
Playing OneTwo-1 cue list. When change to next step, the slider monitoring actual step falls to zero immediately, but the fixture monitor shows the correct values.

Is this the correct behavior?.
Attachments
test-slider-monitor.qxw
(8.26 KiB) Downloaded 36 times

iamchrislaurie
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:27 am
Real Name: Chris Laurie

Re: Sliders in VC should be able to act like Simple Desk sliders, i.e. overriding the current cue level

Post by iamchrislaurie » Sun Mar 12, 2017 11:54 am

Hi

I have now had a look of this and I really like it!!

One small intriguing thing I have noticed:

When there is a function running, you can adjust the slider by dragging the slider button with the mouse. The value of the channel changes (remains changed) and the red X becomes enabled and works as exected. But, you cannot use the mouse scroll button for this. For some reason, if you hover over the slider, and move the mouse scroller, then the value changes while you are scrolling, but it snaps back to the scene's value when you stop scrolling. It is as if the scroll button does not trigger the new code. If you first move the button with the mouse, then the scroll wheel works.

One of my main use cases for this, is to make small adjustments to moving head spotlight positions during a show, when the actor singer has not ended up where we programmed her/him to be. Being able to make small adjustments with the mouse would be perfect.

Deece
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 1:42 pm
Real Name: Derek

Re: Sliders in VC should be able to act like Simple Desk sliders, i.e. overriding the current cue level

Post by Deece » Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:11 pm

Really love the new slider / monitor functions. They work really well for me.

Just one question ...
When the the slider is in knob mode, is it supposed to have the monitor function as well?
I notice that the green monitor display follows the knob position, not the monitored level.
(qt4-git-4.10.6.20170310.2a70ac5-0 amd64)

Post Reply